Nintendo Switch News

Nintendo Announces Details for Switch Online

In a post to their website, Nintendo has announced details for the upcoming launch of Nintendo Switch Online. The post focused on two key elements, features, and prices.


The following features have been confirmed as part of Switch Online:

  • Online Play
  • 20 NES games available launch with the added feature of online play. These games include¬†Soccer, Tennis, Donkey Kong, Mario Bros., Super Mario Bros., Balloon Fight, Ice Climber, Dr. Mario, The Legend of Zelda, and Super Mario Bros. 3. New games will be continuously¬†added.
  • Cloud Saves
  • Special offers to members.


Along with the features of the service, the following pricing plans were also laid out:

  • 1 month: $3.99
  • 3 months: $7.99
  • 12 months: $19.99

A family plan has also been announced as a pricing option. This will give one account holder the option to add up to 7 other members, giving them all access to the online features. This will cost $34.99. For for more information, click here to check out Nintendo’s post.

PG’s Take:

There are three things that stand out when going through this information. First, with NES games being available as a Switch Online feature, what does that mean for Virtual Console? Additionally, will the library grow to expand games outside of the NES? Second, cloud saving is something that people have been wanting since the launch of the console, so it is good to see that coming. Finally, when compared to the other online subscriptions, it is nice to see the price significantly lower when the offerings are very similar(online play, free games, discounts, and deals).

By Jerry Young

Northern California born and raised, now living in the heat. Small town roots. Not a great cook(but I make a hell of an effort). When I'm not playing video games, I dabble in the world of card tricks. Former college basketball player(still got it!).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.